Josefsjahr: ACN stellt Zeugnisse der Verehrung des heiligen Josefs bei Projektpartnern in Afrika, Asien und Lateinamerika vor

Anlässlich des von Papst Franziskus ausgerufenen Josefjahres von Dezember 2020 bis Dezember 2021 hat das päpstliche Hilfswerk Aid to the Church in Need (ACN) Überlegungen, Zeugnisse und Wunder im Zusammenhang mit dem heiligen Josef bei den Projektpartnern in verschiedenen Teilen der Welt gesammelt.

Feier des Jahres des Heiligen Josef, von Dezember 2020 bis Dezember 2021.

„Der heilige Josef ist ein Vorbild in allen Bereichen des Lebens“, so Bischof Domingo Buezo Leivo vom Apostolischen Vikariat Izabal in Guatemala. Die Überlegungen über den heiligen Josef spiegeln jedoch in gewisser Weise die speziellen Anliegen jedes Landes wider: „Ich möchte den heiligen Josef als den verantwortungsbewussten Mann in den Mittelpunkt stellen, der für das Leben des Kindes und der Mutter sorgt, und deshalb fliehen und die Folgen der Flucht ertragen musste: Unannehmlichkeiten, Müdigkeit, Gefahren, Unsicherheit. Aber er hat das Leben des Kindes und der Mutter gerettet“, sagte er. Dabei weist er auf das menschliche Drama hin, das Tausende von Migranten aus Mittel- und Südamerika erleben, die auf der Suche nach einem besseren Leben für sich und ihre Familien aus ihren Ländern fliehen. „Einige kämpfen buchstäblich darum, das Leben zu retten, wie Josef und Maria mit dem Jesuskind im Arm“, sagte der Bischof. Er stellt alle, die sich „den Gefahren und Herausforderungen auf dem Migrationsweg“ aussetzen, unter die Obhut des heiligen Josefs.

Procession of the faithful of the parish Our Lady of Guadalupe, in Chel, Guatemala (photo taken before the pandemic)

Priester und Ordensschwestern aus Guinea-Bissau, Uruguay, Südafrika und Brasilien – um nur einige Länder zu nennen –­ erzählen, wie sie die Verehrung des heiligen Josefs in ihren jeweiligen Gemeinschaften feiern. In Manaus, Brasilien, wo das Hilfswerk die Ausbildung von Seminaristen der Erzdiözese unterstützt, ist die Verehrung des heiligen Josefs in der ganzen Stadt weit verbreitet.

Im Jahr 1848 wurde das Seminar San José gegründet und die dort ausgebildeten Priester errichteten die Pfarrei St. Josef. Jahre später wurde zwar das Seminar geschlossen, aber „die Verehrung des heiligen Josefs blieb erhalten, und die Pfarrei festigte sich“, erklärt Pater Zenildo Lima, derzeitiger Rektor des Erzdiözesanseminars St. Josef, gegenüber ACN. 1999 begann eine Gruppe von Gläubigen, am 19. eines jeden Monats eine Novene zu Ehren des heiligen Josefs zu beten. Die Andacht verbreitete sich schnell im Volk, und wurde zum „Höhepunkt der Volksfrömmigkeit in der Erzdiözese“. Die Pfarrei wurde zum Diözesanheiligtum des heiligen Josefs erhoben. An dessen Festtag strömen mehr als 100.000 Gläubige dorthin.

Seminaristen des Sankt-Joseph-Seminars in Manaus, Brasilien (Foto aus der Zeit vor der Pandemie).

„Am Fuße des Gnadenbildes ereignen sich zahlreiche Geschichten von Schmerz, Hoffnung und Gebet“, betont Pater Zenildo. So wie seine eigene Geschichte: Im Dezember 2016 erkrankte der Priester an einer Lungenentzündung und geriet sogar in Todesangst; nach fünf Stunden, in denen er zwischen Leben und Tod schwankte, überwand er die Krise. Am 19. Dezember verließ er das Krankenhaus: „Als meine 78-jährige Mutter mich sah, lief sie auf mich zu, umarmte mich und sagte mir unter Tränen der Dankbarkeit ins Ohr: ‚Ich habe mich eindringlich an den heiligen Josef gewandt, um dich nicht zu verlieren!’“

Andere Projektpartner erzählen von geistlichen Gnadenerweisen des heiligen Josefs. So P. Godino Phokoso aus der Diözese Dedza in Malawi. Er berichtet dem Hilfswerk, wie ihm sein Vater die Verehrung zum heiligen Josef weitergab: „Er nannte den heiligen Josef meistens ‚den Zimmermann’. Er erzählte mir häufig von ihm. Er sagte, dass er ein gerechter Mann sei, ein hart arbeitender Mann, ein liebender Vater“.

Dorfbewohner, die darauf warten, ihren Mais in der Mahlmühle des St. Kizito Seminars in Dezda, Malawi, zu mahlen.

Laut Pater Godino war es auch der heilige Josef, der ihm beim Eintritt ins Priesterseminar, beim Studium und bei der Vorbereitung auf den Priesterberuf half. Seine Beziehung zum heiligen Josef ist „wie zwischen Vater und Sohn“. „Er ist mein liebender Vater, der nicht müde wird, meine Bitten zu erfüllen“, so beispielsweise „eine gute Predigt zu halten, ein guter Diener Gottes zu sein, Gesundheit, usw. Ich habe viele dieser Dinge von ihm erhalten. Viele der Dinge, die ich jetzt bezeugen kann, habe ich bereits erhalten. Weitere Gnadenerweise sind auf dem Weg“, sagt er.

Seminaristen vor einem Priesterseminar in Jharkhand, Indien.

Zu den von ACN zusammengetragenen Zeugnissen gehören ebenfalls Wunder- und Heilungsgeschichten, die der Fürsprache des heiligen Josefs in Indien zugeschrieben werden. Jesuitenpater George Kerketta von der Pfarrei St. Josef in Dolda, Indien, hat ACN bei der Reparatur des Kirchendachs unterstützt. Er berichtet von Ehe- und Familienkrisen, die dank der Fürsprache des heiligen Josefs gelöst werden konnten. Der Jesuit ist sich sicher, dass auf die Fürsprache des Patriarchen Priester- und Ordensberufungen geweckt wurden. In der im Dschungel gelegenen Pfarrei berichten Menschen aber auch von Hilfe in erschreckenden Augenblicken, so zum Beispiel, als ein Pfarrangehöriger von einem Tiger angegriffen wurde. Er erholte sich von seinen Wunden, nachdem seine Familie zum heiligen Josef gebetet hatte.

Die Feier des Josefjahrs ist von COVID-19 geprägt. Dies war für viele Menschen ein Grund, sich seinem Schutz anzuvertrauen, so Pater Ernest Adwok, Pfarrer der St. Josephs-Kathedrale in Malakal, Südsudan. „Papst Franziskus möchte, dass dieses Jahr dem heiligen Josef gewidmet wird. Wegen der Pandemie befinden wir uns in einem Lockdown. Ist es trotzdem möglich, einige Aktivitäten zum Jahr des heiligen Josefs durchzuführen? Wenn wir auf Gott vertrauen – daran glaube ich –, kann jede Veränderung eintreten. Wir hoffen, dass auf die Fürsprache des heiligen Josefs die ganze Welt von dieser Pandemie befreit wird“, so der Priester. „Der heilige Josef war ein Mann der Träume und ein Mann der Tat. Träume und Taten: Ich habe dies als meinen Lebensweg, als meine Berufung angenommen. Ich habe Träume über mein zukünftiges Leben. Was soll ich in der Gemeinde tun, in der ich arbeite?“, denkt der Priester laut nach.

Pater Ernest Adwok, Pfarrer der Saint Joseph’s Cathedral in Malakal, Südsudan.

Mehr Zeugnisse können hier abgerufen werden.

Our Task Areas
Our Regional Activities
Press contact

Latest News

Der Nuntius in der DR Kongo betonte die Priorität der Versöhnung, die den mit Spannung erwarteten Besuch von Papst Franziskus prägen wird....
Einige Tage nach dem Anschlag auf eine protestantische Kirche im Osten der Demokratischen Republik Kongo prangert Marcelo Oliveira, Comboni-Priester und...
Der Wiederaufbau des völlig zerstörten Klosters der Dominikanerinnen von St. Joseph in Batnaya, Irak, ist ein Zeichen für diesen Glauben...

Year of Saint Joseph: ACN presents testimonies of devotion to Saint Joseph among its project partners in Africa, Asia and Latin America

On the occasion of the celebration of the Year of Saint Joseph, proclaimed by Pope Francis from December 2020 until December 2021, the international Catholic charity and pontifical foundation Aid to the Church in Need (ACN) has gathered a series of reflections, testimonies and miracles related to this saint by many of its project partners from around the world.

Celebration of the Year of Saint Joseph, from December 2020 until December 2021

“Saint Joseph is an example for every state of life”, says Bishop Domingo Buezo Leivo of the Apostolic Vicariate of Izabal, in Guatemala. Yet to some extent the thoughts about the person of Saint Joseph tend to reflect people’s particular concerns in each particular country. “I like to focus on Saint Joseph as the responsible man who, in order to protect the life of the Child and his Mother, has to flee and suffer all the consequences, namely discomfort, weariness, danger, uncertainty. But he saves the life of the Child and his Mother”, he adds, referring of course to the ongoing human drama of the thousands of migrants from Central and South America, currently fleeing their own countries in search of a better life for themselves and their families. “Some of them are quite literally struggling to save their lives, like Joseph and Mary with the Child Jesus in their arms”, the bishop explains as he entrusts to the care of Saint Joseph all these people, who are exposing themselves “to the dangers and challenges of a migrant journey”.

Procession of the faithful of the parish Our Lady of Guadalupe, in Chel, Guatemala (photo taken before the pandemic)

Priests and religious from Guinea Bissau, Uruguay, South Africa and Brazil – to name just a few – describe how they express their devotion to Saint Joseph in their respective communities. In Manaus in Brazil, where ACN International is supporting the training of the archdiocesan seminarians, devotion to Saint Joseph is widespread throughout the city.

The seminary of Saint Joseph was founded in 1848 and the priests training there also established the parish of Saint Joseph. Many years later the seminary closed, “but devotion to Saint Joseph continued and the parish was further consolidated”, explains Father Zenildo Lima, the current rector of the archdiocesan seminary of Saint Joseph. In 1999 a group of the faithful began to pray a novena to Saint Joseph on the 19th of each month, a devotion which rapidly spread among the people and which has now become “the largest single expression of popular piety in the archdiocese”. Now the parish church has been raised to the status of a Diocesan Sanctuary of Saint Joseph, and on the saint’s feast day over 100,000 of the faithful throng the area.

Seminarians of the Saint Joseph Seminary in Manaus, Brazil (photo taken before the pandemic)

“Laid at the feet of his image are so many stories of suffering, hope and prayer”, Father Zenildo assures us. Including his own story: in December 2016 he fell ill with pneumonia and was indeed very close to death; but after five hours hovering between life and death, he came through the crisis. He was discharged from hospital on the 19th of the month. “My 78-year-old mother, on seeing me, rushed up to me and hugged me, weeping with gratitude, and whispered to me: ‘I prayed so hard to Saint Joseph not to lose you!’.”

Many project partners tell of spiritual favours granted by the saint. For example, Father Godino Phokoso of the diocese of Dedza, in Malawi, who explained to ACN how his father had passed onto him the devotion to Saint Joseph. “He always used to call on Saint Joseph “the carpenter”. He spoke to me a great deal about him, telling me that he was a just man, a hard-working man, a loving father.” And it was Saint Joseph also, who helped him to get into the seminary, Father Godino recalls, and likewise in his training and his studies on the path to the priesthood. He describes his relationship to Saint Joseph as “that of father and son”. “He is my loving father, who never wearies of my petitions”, things like “preaching a good sermon, being a good servant of God, keeping healthy, and so forth. Many of these things I have already received and can bear witness to; the others are still on their way”, he adds.

Villagers waiting to grind their maize at the grinding mill of St. Kizito Seminary in Dezda, Malawi

Among the testimonies received by ACN there are also accounts from India of miracles and cures attributed to the intercession of Saint Joseph. Jesuit Father George Kerketta, of St Joseph’s parish in Dolda, Jharkhand state, in India, where ACN helps for repairs to the church roof, tells of crises in family and married life that were resolved thanks to the intercession of the saint. He is likewise quite certain that vocations to the priesthood and religious life have been born thanks to the intercession of the patriarch, Saint Joseph. But there are also other stories in this parish, situated in a forest region, of help in critical moments, such as the time when one of the parishioners was attacked by a tiger and recovered from his wounds after the members of his family prayed to Saint Joseph.

Seminarians in front of a Seminary in Jharkhand, India

The celebration of the Year of Saint Joseph has been marked by the Covid-19 crisis, which has likewise for many people been an opportunity to recommend themselves to his protection, as Father Ernest Adwok, the parish priest of Saint Joseph’s Cathedral in Malakal in South Sudan, reports: “Pope Francis wants this year to be dedicated to Saint Joseph. We are facing a situation of lockdown owing to the pandemic. But despite this, is it still possible to carry out certain activities in honour of this Year of Saint Joseph? I believe that if we trust in God, all kinds of things can change. We are hoping that through the intercession of Saint Joseph the whole world may be liberated from this pandemic”, he tells us. “Saint Joseph was a man of dreams and a man of action. Dreams and action – I have adopted this as my way of life, my vocation. I have dreams about my future life. So what am I going to do in the parish where I work?”, reflects Father Adwok.

Fr. Ernest Adwok, parish priest of Saint Joseph’s Cathedral in Malakal, South Sudan

Here you can read more testimonies 

Our Task Areas
Our Regional Activities
Press contact

Latest News

The Apostolic Nuncio to the DR of the Congo highlighted the priority of reconciliation, that will mark Pope Francis' much-awaited visit...
ACN expresses its condemnation of the attack on two Catholic Churches carried out in Algeciras, Spain, motivated by jihadist religious extremism....
United to the Pope’s request to pray for peace in Myanmar, ACN announces a prayer initiative to coincide with the 2nd anniversary of the coup...