Menu
Menu

Syrie en 2018

Nombre de projets 2018
J
233
Project
applications
K
185
Funded
projects
Type de projets 2018
Responsable de projets

Après huit ans de guerre, la Syrie est littéralement détruite. Les destructions sont partout dans le pays. Il n’en va pas autrement dans l’âme des gens. Des centaines de milliers de morts, des millions de réfugiés et d’innombrables personnes souvent fortement traumatisées sont le tribut imposé par la violence inouïe de la guerre. La population doit maintenant « repartir de zéro ». La survie des gens dépend largement du soutien d’organisations d’aide étrangères. En 2018, ACN a de nouveau apporté une aide de plusieurs millions, notamment dans les régions où vivent de nombreux chrétiens.

Alors que plus de 1,5 million de chrétiens vivaient en Syrie avant la guerre, leur nombre s’est réduit depuis a environ 500 000 fidèles. La modeste aisance que nombre d’entre eux avait acquise avant la guerre a totalement disparu. Pour la plupart, il ne s’agit plus que de survivre. Notre aide s’effectue en étroite collaboration avec les responsables religieux sur place. Car ce sont les évêques, les prêtres ainsi que les diacres et les religieuses des paroisses qui connaissent le mieux les besoins les plus urgents de telle ou telle famille. Cela peut être du lait, ou bien une aide pour le loyer, des médicaments ou des vêtements.

A displaced family from Aleppo, which has been living for nearly three years under difficult conditions in Tartus, a city on the Syrian coast.
Famille déplacée d’Alep qui vit depuis trois ans dans des conditions difficiles a Tartus près de la cote syrienne.

L’archevêque maronite de Damas, Samir Nassar, décrit la situation : ≪ Le peuple en Syrie n’est plus en quête de liberté. Il cherche son pain quotidien, il cherche de l’eau, du gaz pour faire la cuisine, quelques litres d’essence. A ceci vient s’ajouter la recherche d’un frère perdu, d’une sœur, des parents et des amis. C’est une entreprise silencieuse remplie de peur et d’espoir. Dans un pays en ruines, trouver un abri pour la famille apparait vain, comme un rêve. ≫

« Les ruines les plus grandes se trouvent dans l’âme des gens. »

L’aide humanitaire, le financement de l’éducation et l’aide à la reconstruction étaient de nouveau en tête de nos priorités en 2018 pour la Syrie. L’aide à été en partie attribuée à Alep, Homs, Damas, dans les villages de la ≪ Vallée des chrétiens ≫ et à Tartus où vivent la plupart des chrétiens.

The father of the martyr Makar Makar visits the grave of the martyr Krikor Ashnagelian at the Syrian-Armenian cemetery in Aleppo.
Le père du martyre Makar Makar devant la tombe d’un autre martyre Krikor Ashnagelian au cimetière syrien arménien à Alep.

Quelques exemples illustrent l’ampleur de la détresse dans ce pays. Grâce à notre soutien, des colis alimentaires ont été distribués à 3 000 familles. Nous avons également fourni une aide humanitaire à un vaste ≪ programme lait ≫, dont ont bénéficié 800 familles avec des enfants. Nous avons contribué à financer une initiative pour le traitement des traumatismes de guerre. Pour améliorer les perspectives professionnelles des jeunes chrétiens, nous avons participé à des bourses pour 12 000 élèves et étudiants.

« Nous concentrons notre aide sur les territoires où vivent la plupart des chrétiens. »

Mais la reconstruction reste une priorité. Ainsi en 2018 avec l’aide d’ACN, 200 maisons et appartements ont été rénovés permettant de donner à des chrétiens protection et sécurité dans leur propre pays. La remise en état de 500 autres logements aura lieu cette année.

Aide d’urgence pour les réfugiés syriens au Liban

De nombreux chrétiens ont fui au Liban chez des proches par peur des persécutions et de la violence. Mais pour la plupart, ce n’est qu’une existence provisoire. La grande majorité d’entre eux veulent rentrer le plus vite possible dans leur pays, vivre du fruit de leur travail et participer à la reconstruction de leur pays. Ces fidèles nous tiennent particulièrement à cœur. C’est pourquoi 59 % de notre budget accordé à la Syrie en 2018 ont été consacrés comme aide d’urgence aux refugiés au Liban avec près de 967 000 euros.

Nous considérons aussi notre aide comme un investissement pour la reconstruction de la communauté chrétienne en Syrie. Car chaque chrétien qui revient dans le pays consolide l’unité et la diversité de l’Eglise en Syrie. Et cette unité aide l’ensemble du peuple à retrouver une nouvelle estime de soi et à regagner confiance.

Sister Samia of the Sisters of the Sacred Hearts of Jesus and Mary in Homs playing football with one of the children of “Le Sénevé”, a centre that cares for 80 children with disabilities or autism..
Sœur Samia des Sœurs des Sacres Cœurs de Jésus et de Marie a Homs jouant au football avec un des enfants du centre ≪ Le Sénevé ≫, s’occupant de 80 enfants atteints de handicaps ou d’autisme.

Syria in 2018

Number of projects in 2018
J
233
Project
applications
K
185
Funded
projects
Type of projects in 2018
Head of Section

After eight years of war, Syria literally lies in ruins. There is hardly one stone still attached to another in the entire country. Nor are the souls of the people faring any better. Hundreds of thousands of deaths, millions of refugees and countless people who are often severely traumatised are the toll of the incomprehensible violence inflicted by the war. The population now faces “zero hour”. People’s survival here largely depends on the support of foreign aid organisations. ACN continued to provide millions of euros to Syria in 2018, especially in regions where many Christians live.

While more than 1.5 million Christians lived in Syria before the war, their number has dwindled to around 500,000 in the aftermath. The modest prosperity that many of them had attained before the war is gone. For most, life has now become about survival. Our aid is provided in close consultation with local Church decision-makers. The bishops and priests, as well as the deacons and sisters in the parishes, know best which families need what form of aid most urgently. Sometimes this is milk, sometimes a rent subsidy, sometimes medicine or clothing.

A displaced family from Aleppo, which has been living for nearly three years under difficult conditions in Tartus, a city on the Syrian coast.
A displaced family from Aleppo, which has been living for nearly three years under difficult conditions in Tartus, a city on the Syrian coast.

Perhaps the Maronite Archbishop of Damascus, Samir Nassar, describes the situation best: “The people of Syria no longer seek freedom. They now seek daily bread, water, gas to cook, a few litres of fuel. Then there is the search for a lost brother, sister, parents and friends – a quiet undertaking, full of fear and hope. Finding a shelter for the family in a country in ruins seems hopeless, more like a dream.”

» The biggest ruins lie in the souls of the people. «

Humanitarian aid, funds for education and reconstruction aid were once again high on our agenda for Syria in 2018. Most of the aid went to Aleppo, Homs, Damascus, villages in the “Valley of Christians” and to Tartus, for it is here that most of the Christians live.

The father of the martyr Makar Makar visits the grave of the martyr Krikor Ashnagelian at the Syrian-Armenian cemetery in Aleppo.
The father of the martyr Makar Makar visits the grave of the martyr Krikor Ashnagelian at the Syrian-Armenian cemetery in Aleppo.

Some examples illustrate how great the need in the country still is. For example, food packages were distributed to 3,000 families with our support. We also provided humanitarian aid for a large-scale “milk programme” that was launched for 800 families with children. Under the motto “Good Samaritan”, we also helped to create an initiative to treat traumatic war experiences. In order to improve the career prospects of young Christians, we supported scholarships for 12,000 pupils and students.

» We focus our aid on areas where most Christians live. «

But reconstruction also remains a priority – in 2018, 200 houses and flats were renovated with the help of ACN, offering Christians shelter and security in their homeland once again. The restoration of another 500 residential units will follow this year.

Emergency aid for Syrian refugees in Lebanon.

Many Syrian Christians have fled to relatives in Lebanon out of the fear of persecution and violence. But for most, this is only a temporary means of existence. The vast majority of them would like to return home as soon as possible, live from the work of their own hands and help rebuild their country. These believers are especially dear to our hearts. For this reason, around 967,000 euros, or 59% of our budget in 2018, went to Syria alone as emergency aid for the refugees in Lebanon.

We also consider our emergency aid to be an investment in the reconstruction of the Christian community in Syria. Because every Christian who returns home strengthens the unity and diversity of the Syrian Church. And this unity ultimately helps the entire population regain its self-confidence and sense of optimism.

Sister Samia of the Sisters of the Sacred Hearts of Jesus and Mary in Homs playing football with one of the children of “Le Sénevé”, a centre that cares for 80 children with disabilities or autism..
Sister Samia of the Sisters of the Sacred Hearts of Jesus and Mary in Homs playing football with one of the children of “Le Sénevé”, a centre that cares for 80 children with disabilities or autism.